Vignette from Surgery: Day 3

Me:  “Hey, sorry, just reminding you – I have mandatory lectures from 11- 6pm today.”
Intern:  “Okay, no problem.  See you tomorrow..”
Me:  “Hey, sorry, just reminding you – I have mandatory lectures from 11- 6pm today.”
4th year Resident:  “Okay, no problem.  See you tomorrow.”
Me:  “Hey, sorry, just reminding you –  I have mandatory lectures from 11-6pm today.”
Chief Resident:  “Okay, no problem.  See you tomorrow.”

6 hours of lectures later, my classmates go home, but I run back to the floor to grab my bag:

Me:  “Hi!”
3rd year Resident:  “So are you aware that you missed afternoon rounds?”

Fin.

(Moral of the story:  On surgery, your absence is important enough to be silently judged – but not important enough for anyone else to actually explain it.)

(Alternative moral of the story:  Never go back for your bag.)

(Alternative alternative moral of the story:  You will never make everyone happy.  Welcome to medicine.)

5 thoughts on “Vignette from Surgery: Day 3

  1. A) Surgery is awesome (but don’t go into it. I’m serious.)
    B) Resident 3 probably wasn’t even mad. Just say, “I’m so sorry I couldn’t find you before I left for classes! We had them from 11-6 today.”
    C) You’re lucky you didn’t get roped into doing some work!

  2. I’ll go with “Alternative alternative to the alternative: You will never make everyone happy. Welcome to real life. Be ready to have some pissed at you for a stupid reason for the rest of it.”

Leave a Reply

