Needless pre-test anxiety?

Today is our first anatomy test. Unlike our first biochem test, which everyone stressed over but ultimately felt decently about, today’s test promises to crush many of our souls. I know this because people were studying so hard last night that they weren’t even posting about it on facebook. Not a single “____ is so stressed about the upcoming exam!” or “kill me now” status update. Just, everywhere you go on campus – the tense sound of absolute silence, punctuated only by the occasional nervous breakdown.

This anxiety makes sense, since we’ve covered everything non-internal and non-head in only 3 weeks (yes, I’m certain “non-head” is a legit medical phrase).  The volume of information is painful, and even though we only need a 65% to pass, there’s just so much to know that a simple conversation about any single anatomical structure can result in uncertainty and depression.
(Student 1: “Hey, does the posterior circumflex femoral artery dive laterally or medially away from the brachial artery?”
Student 2: … posterior circa-what–? … oh god. *ends life*“)
I’ve had approximately a hundred elevator conversations like that this weekend and, while I’m pretty sure I once felt pretty good about this test, now I’m feeling swamped by tiny, deadly details. Like ants.

But I’m just going to let Dr. Cox talk me through this one:

There, I feel 50% better.
The other 50% is the responsibility of the post-test margaritas.

6 thoughts on “Needless pre-test anxiety?

  1. OK, I have to comment on this one too:
    My favorite memory from first year anatomy test was seeing a very blurry eyed fellow student at breakfast after he had been up all night studying for the exam. His comment was: “Thank goodness for acronyms. My brain is so shot that I invented a new acronym that I need for the anatomy of the face. It is TEON: two eyes, one nose.”

  2. I had to comment again, also. I’m going to be applying to schools this coming spring, so this kind of experience stuff is useful (read: somewhat exciting and somewhat terrifying) to read. Just so you know, I’ve basically read every entry within the last hour instead of paying attention to my Cellular Basis of Learning and Memory lecture. yikes.

    • Haha, excellent. I took a neuro class on learning and memory last year – I tried for like 20 seconds to remember how it worked, and all I can come up with is “Magnesium blocks. Lots of ion channels. GABA.” Best of luck with applying, let me know if you have any questions – it’s kind of a crazy process, but it’s fun.

  3. I do agree with all the ideas you have offered to your post. They’re very convincing and can definitely work. Nonetheless, the posts are very short for beginners. May just you please lengthen them a little from next time? Thank you for the post.

Leave a Reply

