I mean, I celebrated last week because I got an article accepted to Gomerblog

You know how there’s a lot of German words for complicated emotions?

  • Schadenfreude: The pleasure you feel at someone else’s pain.
  • Schleppen: The labor at carrying a heavy object a very long way.
  • WanderlustAn impulse, longing or urge to go for long walks or hikes, or to travel
  • Zugzwang: A situation in which you have to make a move, but any move you make will be disadvantageous to you, whereas if you did not have to move, you would not be at a disadvantage.
  • WeltschmerzSentimental pessimism or melancholy over the state of the world

Do you know if there’s a German word for the emotion “my peer just had a 1st author paper accepted for publication to Cell and I’m simultaneously incredibly proud but also – good god, I need to seriously re-evaluate my suddenly wanting life?”

… asking for, um, a friend.

Edit: 15 minutes after posting this, one of my friends got a write-up in the New York Times. I’m officially having a small but incredibly selfish and confusing personal crisis.

3 thoughts on “I mean, I celebrated last week because I got an article accepted to Gomerblog

  1. ERAS-crashing 4th year here. I’ve been reading your blog for a while, but on the same day that I got my first interview offer, I also discovered your Twitter account. This weekend is off to a wonderful start. Keep up the good work.

  2. Gomerblog is the TITS! I’d rather guffaw than read puff pieces or preachy dreck in those birdcage liners. So slap yerself on the back & give yerself a fist bump for being awesome.

Leave a Reply

