Quality Improvement

In several weeks, I am presenting my QI project to the hospital administration.

(In this context, “present” means “create an elaborate smokescreen of graphs and examples that prevent them from lingering on the fact that I have no clue what I’m doing“.)

This would be significantly easier, of course, if I knew how to make a smokescreen of graphs and examples that prevent them from lingering on the fact that I have no clue what I’m doing.

BUT WE CAN’T ALWAYS GET WHAT WE WANT.

So I’ve been spending the past week learning everything about statistics that comes after “standard deviations” and “conditional formatting” – which turns out to be pretty much everything that is useful ever.

All of this mucking around on internet Excel forums really would’ve been significantly easier if I had actually bothered to take a statistics class in undergrad, but noooo, I thought it would bring down my GPA.

The irony is – it would’ve brought down my GPA.

Might have even prevented me from getting me into a medical school with a Quality Improvement program, in fact.

So now, of course, we’re in the much more stellar situation of me being in said med school and not having the first clue how to manipulate a polar table to include a tertiary axis, unions, intersections, or array constants – or indeed, what those things are and why I should be using them in the first place.

And that, kids – is quality improvement.

One thought on “Quality Improvement

  1. My first reading of that was “how to manipulate a polar bear to include a tertiary axis, unicorns, intersections…Whaaaaa?” I think food is in order before studying path tonight…

Leave a Reply

