3 Things I Think You Should Consider Buying

(I slept in until 7am!  That’s like noon!  Medical noon.)

Clinical Management of Hypertension in Diabetes: $15

Look, it’s $15.  If you do the math, that means for every hypertensive patient with diabetes that you’ll see on your medicine rotation, you’re only spending $0.003! High-yield!

(… fine, and it also has excellent explanations and is really good about citing landmark studies and all that.  Plus, it’s.. kind of interesting.  Seriously.  I like it.)

 

 

E-Book of Obstetrics:  $9

Yes, this looks shady as hell.  I know.  This is the book cover of something that would be sold out of the back of a van.

BUT: it would be sold out of the back of a van by a board-certified OB/Gyn who wrote a book where he just pours out all of his accumulated knowledge about Obstetrics.  It’s only $9!

It is exactly like you’ve agreed to meet an OB/Gyn for coffee, and you stayed for an hour while he told you everything he knew, and you happened to record it all perfectly in text format – so to express your gratitude, you paid for his coffee.

Keurig Machine:  Probably Too Much.

Yes, I know it’s over $100.  Here’s what you must do:  Convince your roommate to buy one.  (For advanced moochers: convince your roommate’s parents to buy one.)

(What if you don’t have a roommate, you ask?  Well, that means you can afford it on your own, Mr. or Ms. Moneybags.)

Once your roommate’s bought it, you just buy these magical little single serve cups of lattes, cappuccinos, chai, tea, coffee – and never have to clean anything up ever again.  In goes the cup, out comes a single cup of awesome.  All you have to do is throw the cup into the trash, and then you’re on your merry way to the hospital.

If you aren’t tempted by this idea, I can only conclude that you’re either 1) someone who suspects this is not great for the environment, or 2) someone who is less of a lazy bum than me.

6 thoughts on “3 Things I Think You Should Consider Buying

  1. I like the idea of the Keurig for coffee (which I almost never drink), but I can’t understand why anyone would pay so much for single serve cups for tea, which already comes in single serve tea bags. How much more convenient does it need to get?

  2. They installed one of the Keurig machines in the doctor’s lounge at my hospital. It seems to break at least twice a week, and every time I go by has an “out of order” sign on it. The few times I’ve seen it without the sign always seems to be when I’m in a hurry, or too late in the day to take anything other than a Diet Coke.

  3. Ah, Dr Grumpy, that’s what they want you to think. There must be some guy sticking up that ‘out of service’ sign just so he can be sure nobody else will use the coffee machine.

  4. My big problem with the Keurig machines is that they come in single cup servings of coffee; I haven’t measured my cups of coffee per day in single digits since age 18.

  5. I’m obsessed with my keurig. We ran out of kcups and it took 5 days for the new shipment to arrive-using a regular coffee maker really highlights how amazing this thing is. BTW- german chocolate ones are amazing!

Leave a Reply

