“Tell me that’s not what I think it is.”

The pharmacology professor did the unthinkable:  he used calculus.  Also, he spent about 10 minutes on some derivations and antilogs and exponential math.

The near-universal class reaction:

Followed shortly by everyone miming suicidal motions at each other.  (My favorite was the guy in front of me who elaborately mimed constructing a rope and hanging himself.  Well done, sir.)

And on the other side of the aisle, The Reactions of the Engineering Majors:

Yeah, yeah – laugh it up, guys.

I realize that calculus isn’t exactly the hardest thing in the world, and really, there’s no good reason I shouldn’t be able to just follow along like a good student.

But it’s been 4 years since I took calc, so can you really blame me for forgetting everything but the basic concepts?  Anyway, I stopped taking notes and just started flipping through BRS Pharmacology enough to verify that the USMLE writers don’t think I need to know it, and spent the lecture time studying the first chapter of BRS instead.

Call me irresponsible and a future bad doctor, but… at some point, you have to draw a line.

4 thoughts on ““Tell me that’s not what I think it is.”

  1. calculus was a hurdle you had to finesse, and you will not need it in practice or life except to enhance your appreciation of the music of the spheres.

  2. I don’t remember any of my pharmacy professors ever going into calculus….or logs, ln, etc, etc. Just simple math except for pharmacokinetics for dosing antibiotics were you have to know the equations mostly plug and chug – and we didn’t have to memorize them since equations sheets were provided for exams because seriously in real life you can always look up equations….good luck!

Leave a Reply

